The Law Office of

CHRISTOPHER SOHOVICH



(619) 326-8161
The Law Office of

CHRISTOPHER SOHOVICH



(619) 326-8161
Put the power of an attorney who's been a
Judge's Assistant and Deputy District Attorney
on YOUR side.

Multiple Offense DUI

California DUIs are what’s called “priorable” offenses with a “tail”. This means that if you are convicted of a subsequent DUI or California “wet” reckless within a certain number of years of the prior offense, your County Jail or California State Prison sentence can become increased.

If you are arrested for drunk driving in California and have three (3) or more prior DUI convictions within the last ten (10) years, you will most likely face a felony DUI charge under California Vehicle Code section 23152 VC. For purposes of determining whether you meet this criteria, “prior convictions” include any combination of the following:

  • California Vehicle Code 23152 VC (DUI / “driving under the influence”),
  • VC 23153 (DUI with injury) which includes negligent and gross vehicular manslaughter under California Penal Code 191.5
  • VC 23103.5 (a California “wet reckless”),
  • Out-of-state convictions that, if committed in California, would be a violation of California Vehicle Code sections 23152 or 23153, or gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated under California Penal Code 191.5 (a), and
  • Previously expunged convictions for any of the above offenses.

A California felony DUI may be charged against you…

  1. when the DUI causes injury or death, or
  2. when you have a prior felony DUI, or
  3. when you have at least three (3) prior DUI convictions.

Having multiple prior DUI convictions is the most common way for an otherwise “simple misdemeanor” DUI to turn into a “felony”. The following penalties are the statutory guidelines for each conviction:

2nd DUI Offense

  • Jail: 90 days to 1 year
  • Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
  • License Suspension: up to 2 years
  • Treatment Program: 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

3rd DUI Offense

  • Jail: mandatory 120 days to 1 year
  • Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
  • License Suspension: up to 3 years
  • Treatment Program: 18 months or 30 months in drug/alcohol treatment program

4th DUI Offense

Felony DUI Charges:

  • Jail: 180 days to 16 months
  • Fine: $390.00 to $1,000.00, with possible penalty assessments
  • License Suspension: up to 4 years

If after reading the above information, you have additional questions or would like to speak with a San Diego DUI attorney about your case, please contact us.

Whether you have been charged or arrested for a San Diego DUI, Poway DUI, La Mesa DUI, Santee DUI, Mission Valley DUI, Clairemont DUI, Point Loma DUI, La Jolla DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Mira Mesa DUI, Pacific Beach DUI, Del Mar DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Encinitas DUI, Oceanside DUI, Ocean Beach DUI, Escondido DUI, Vista DUI, San Marcos DUI, Carlsbad DUI or El Cajon DUI, if you’re looking for San Diego’s Best DUI Defense Attorney, you must speak with Attorney Chris Sohovich as soon as possible. Attacking DUIs is what we do best.

Contact the Law Office of Chris Sohovich now for a free case evaluation at 619-326-8161.