The Law Office of

CHRISTOPHER SOHOVICH



(619) 326-8161
The Law Office of

CHRISTOPHER SOHOVICH



(619) 326-8161
Put the power of an attorney who's been a
Judge's Assistant and Deputy District Attorney
on YOUR side.

Out of State DUI

If you live in another state and have a California license, or have an out of state driver’s license but are in California temporarily and are arrested for a DUI, depending on where your state of residency is, the arresting officer will do one of two things, either:

  1. If you are a local California resident, the police officer will confiscate your California driver’s license and replace it with a pink temporary license. The temporary license will expire in 30 days unless you request a DMV hearing.
  2. If your state of residency is a state other than California and you have a driver’s license from that state, the officer cannot confiscate your out-of-state driver’s license BUT will give you notice that your privilege to drive in California will be suspended in 30 days unless you request a DMV hearing.

Whether you are a California resident or not, you have ONLY ten (10) days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV APS hearing. If you are back in your home state you can have us request the hearing here in San Diego on your behalf and appear on your behalf and you can appear at your hearing by phone if you wish.

Once a California DMV hearing is requested, the license suspension is postponed until a decision has been made at the hearing… which may be several weeks or months.

Again, if you retain our firm, we can appear for you at your DMV Hearing on your behalf so you do not have to travel back to San Diego.

If your driving privilege in California has been suspended it will most likely affect your driving privileges in your home state. The “Interstate Compact” is the legal device that governs this. Essentially what it says is, whatever happens in a state you are visiting, your home state will enforce those penalties on you. So if you come to San Diego temporarily and get a DUI, your home state will punish you in accordance with the penalties in San Diego.

The punishment in your home state is dependent upon the state in which you live (for now) soon all states will have a pact that share common rules. For now:

  • Some states will take immediate action if the California DMV suspends your license.
  • Conversely, other states will only take action if you lose your criminal trial and get a criminal conviction.

Whether you request a DMV hearing or not; you are still facing a San Diego DUI and it is imperative you achieve the best possible outcome regarding your San Diego DUI. There are two parts to every San Diego DUI arrest: 1) the DMV hearing and 2) the criminal charges that end up in the court system. Similar to the DMV hearing, we can appear at court for you also so you don’t have to travel back for your hearings. This happens quite often so it is not a sign of disrespect to the DMV or the court if you are not personally present at the various DMV or court appearances.

Whether you have been charged or arrested for a San Diego DUI, Poway DUI, La Mesa DUI, Santee DUI, Mission Valley DUI, Clairemont DUI, Point Loma DUI, La Jolla DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Mira Mesa DUI, Pacific Beach DUI, Del Mar DUI, Carmel Valley DUI, Encinitas DUI, Oceanside DUI, Ocean Beach DUI, Escondido DUI, Vista DUI, San Marcos DUI, Carlsbad DUI or El Cajon DUI, if you’re looking for San Diego’s Best DUI Defense Attorney, you must speak with Attorney Chris Sohovich as soon as possible. Attacking DUIs is what we do best.

Contact the Law Office of Chris Sohovich now for a free case evaluation at 619-326-8161.